Skin Deep

Happy Monday! I know that sounds like an oxymoron… But with a positive attitude you can make it through and something good will happen today. It may be small, you may have to look around the corner or under the rug, but it will be there. I have to tell you about something spectacular that came out of an otherwise great experience last night… My husband and I went to see Johnny Lang and Buddy Guy. For those of you who are not “Blues” fans, they are the cat’s pajamas!!! I thought I had heard almost everything that had been recorded by either of them.. And to my surprise, one of the most wonderful, thoughtful melody and lyrics that I’ve heard in years. I would like to share… By Buddy Guy, entitled “Skin Deep”
” I’ve been around a while, I know wrong from right. And since a long time ago things been always black and white. Just like you can’t judge a book by the cover. We all gotta be careful how we treat one another.
Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same, Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same We’re all of the same
A man in Louisiana, he never called me by my name. He said “boy do this and boy do that “But I never once complained. I knew he had a good heart but he just didn’t understand that I needed to be treated Just like any other man.
Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same.
Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same. We’re all of the same.
I sat my little child down when he was old enough to know I said I fell in this big wide world you’re gonna meet all kinds of folks I said son it all comes down to just one simple rule that you treat everybody just the way You want them to treat you. Yeah
Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same. Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same. We’re all of the same. Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same Skin Deep Skin Deep Underneath we’re all the same We’re all of the same .Yeah

Isn’t that basically what we all want in life? To be treated as we would treat another? It is 2013! We live in a global world. Internet, Skype, do we really judge our friends by skin color? Or by heart and mind? My vote, heart and mind! Without a burdened heart, you will be a happier, healthier person…

Leave a Reply

