Teenage Rape Case

Forgive my rants, but when did we lose control of teenagers to the point that the Ohio Attorney General has to plead with us as a nation to teach our young men not to rape our young women? Are we as parents not giving them that message at home? And why the hell are others video taping it and sending it out and making jokes? Thank goodness the two young men from Steubenville were found guilty yesterday (3/17/13), however I don’t think that it takes much common sense to figure that out! Nor should it end there! How about the Chief of Police who tried to cover up a crime? Or the football coach who condoned this behavior. Or the other young men that were involved! My sons were no saints, nor was I. I am not a hypocrite, but there is somewhere to draw a line people! These young men and women were not having “sex”, that girl was being gang raped while she was unconscious. It would be easy to say the girl shouldn’t have been drinking, but many girls who are now women have been there. They have placed they friendship, sexuality, and care in the hands of friends. Why did someone not stop this senselessness? We could go as far as saying the boys were also out of their minds on alcohol, testosterone, and possibly drugs but they were still responsible for their own actions. Or were they? Under 18… It’s hard as a parent to know what to do. They get to a certain age when they look like an adult, want to act like an adult, but… Somewhere we have disconnected from kids. Not everyone, but clearly youth is more “entitled” today then ever before. This not a “killjoy” for you teens out there, just reality. Many times not your fault. With crazy busy schedules parents have not had the time to spend one on one with you to instill the values our parents gave us. But most of all, how many kids today have gotten a good old spankin’? Not beating!!! My parents never, ever would have beaten me! I had loving wonderful (basically) parents, but I did the “switch dance” many a time. It help instill the same rule that touching the hot stove would do without the danger… I may have blogged this before, but both of my sons may have a healthy fear of “measurement” 🙂 When they were little I would swat them with a wooden ruler. Point? Discipline. It first was taken out of schools and we see what has happened… Hopefully, we can use common sense and not take it out of the home.

What we need to instill in our children today is integrity, respect, loyalty, love, forgiveness, the importance of hard work. If you wait until they are 16, 17, 18… You may be on CNN.

I had found a couple of postings of Facebook that I found interesting on this subject..

I Was Raised
I didn’t just grow up. I was taught to speak when I enter a room. Say please and thank you, to have respect for my elders and to get up off my lazy butt and let the elder in the room have my chair. Say ‘yes sir’ and ‘no sir’, lend a helping hand to those in need. Hold the door for the person behind me, say ‘excuse me’ when it’s needed and to love people for who they are and not for what I can get from them. I was also taught to treat people the way I want to be treated. EightiesMusicForever

Also, Words for teenagers. Northland college principal John Tapene has offered the following words from a judge who regularly deals with youth. “Always we hear the cry from teenagers, ‘what can we do, where can we go?” “My answer is this: Go home, mow the lawn, wash the windows, learn to cook, build a raft, get a job, visit the sick, study your lessons and after you’ve finished, read a book. Your town does not owe you recreational facilities and your parents do not owe you fun. “The world does not owe you a living, you owe the world something. You owe it your time, energy and talent so that no one will be at war, in sickness and lonely again. In other words grow up stop being a cry baby, get out of your dream world and develop a backbone not a wishbone**. Start behaving like a responsible person. You are important and you are needed. It’s too late to sit around and wait for somebody to do something someday. Someday is now and that somebody is you!”

** Note: I do believe that everyone should have that wish, dream and work toward it. But the key word there is WORK. You will never get anywhere riding a stationary bike to the store.

Take responsibility for what you do, respect yourself and OTHERS. Treat others and you want to be treated! Karma, people!

Leave a Reply

