You?

Meet Winston Sovine. Our 2 1/2 year old Yorkshire Terrier. My husband absolutely hates this picture, but for the sake of my blog I’m using it anyway…

I was having a little fun dressing him up for Halloween in a football uniform and he obviously didn’t like it. But he was oh so cute! My husband absolutely hates this picture, but for the sake of my blog I’m using it anyway…
I was having a little fun dressing him up for Halloween in a football uniform and he obviously didn’t like it. But he was oh so cute!
Here’s the analogy that I’m trying to make. Some people put on a façade to hide their true feelings. Others use that façade to try and please others around them. Others are forced (work/home/social) to act one way, while feeling another. And when I say forced, I mean feel out of control of the situation. An extreme example would be a person who feels that they are unable to express their true sexuality for fear of retribution. But there is an entire sphere of feelings that a person can fear and/or feel discomfort when opening themselves up to others. Criticism, disapproval, being made fun of, losing your job, your children, respect…

Another group are those who wear the cloak because they may not know what is behind it yet. Fear of the unknown. It takes thought and effort to look in the mirror and come to terms with who is looking back at you. Much less like who you are. But fear not, some will immediately be in love! And others may have a little work to do, but it will be well worth the efforts.

We all at times wear many hats. Multitasking as employees/employers, parents, students and even kids we are busy and have to be and do many things. I said, do many things. You don’t have to be each and everything that you do. You are you going to work. You are you as a mother/father. Etc…

I was the worst when I was young. My dad had a bad heart and my mom (from the time I was 10 or 11) told me that if I did anything wrong and upset him, it would cause him to have a heart attack and die. So, I put on the cloak of good daughter. You cannot live your life like that! 1. You are not happy. 2. You are not honest. 3. You train yourself to be a pleaser. 4. Someday you will snap.

Lesson from Winston. When the “façade” came off, he was just “Winston” again. Happy to chase the ball, eat, sleep, and poop. However, you will probably do more 🙂

Leave a comment